September 14

.No automatic alt text available.

This is a feral tom that I cleverly named Feral Tom. He survived on his own for many years in the Berkeley hills until he eventually discovered my food dish. Feral Tom is a total loner. He’ll often disappear for months at a stretch. He has sort of a sad and hang-dog demeanor. This vibe of melancholy. Like he’s been put through the mill. But definitely a survivor’s pride. And seems to appreciate the cat food I put out more than the others. Will often sit nearby me for long periods after eating, sort of basking in the after-glow of a good meal.

No automatic alt text available.
 “Crier”

Crier, keeping warm in 37 degree cold.

No automatic alt text available.

“Mailart! Mailart is on my mind. If it ain’t mailart, it’s the radio show. If it ain’t those two it’s bowling. Bowling season has started once again. Sucked last Thursday, Did okay Friday and sucked last night sparing in the Tuesday Scratch league. Consistency – it ain’t there. However, I am somewhat consistent in the mailart department. Here’s one I just did using an Ace Backwords strip originally published in a Queensland, Australia newspaper from goodness knows when. Another mailartist sent me a bunch of paper bits and the Ace strip was in the mix. As I have strips going back 30 years from when newspapers were worth buying for news and comics I figured this was a good time to use some of them.”

No automatic alt text available.

On this date last year: Scaredy Cat and Fatty as wee little kittens. They were inseparable companions back then. Still are.

This was the first home of my own that I ever had. This studio apartment in Berkeley. I lived there in 1979 and 1980. Rent was $115 a month if you can believe it. It was one of six stucco ap…
ACIDHEROES.WORDPRESS.COM
I’m usually at my worst in the morning before I’ve had my first cup of coffee. I’m usually pretty shattered from all the drinking I had done the night before. And face it. …
ACIDHEROES.WORDPRESS.COM
Image may contain: drawing
 Big-time fun!
Image may contain: text

This was the first home of my own that I ever had. This studio apartment in Berkeley. I lived there in 1979 and 1980. Rent was $115 a month if you can believe it. It was one of six stucco apartments, side by side, all connected by the same roof. So we all got to know each other. The next-door neighbors dropping by to borrow a cup of sugar. That bit.

Three of the tenants were on welfare. Another one — this Vietnamese guy with a wife and two young sons who didn’t speak a …

Continue Reading

Image may contain: plant and outdoor

University and San Pablo.

Image may contain: table, tree and outdoor

My critics have spoken:

“You’re quick with smug sarcasm and condescension, Ace. What else have you got? Facts? Well-reasoned arguments? Anything?”

Leave a comment